Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

Before I wrote up this blog post, I decided I needed one more bite of cake first – done and done! Yesterday was the Fast of the 17th day of Tammuz, (Shiva assar b’tammuz), which commemorates five tragic events in Jewish history that occurred on that same date. I don’t plan on giving a history lesson, that was just my segue into CAKE TALK! I have never been a big chocolate fan, I’m sure I have discussed this in other posts- but my husband IS. As you all know, my husband has been on a dairy-free diet for some time, but every once in a while he indulges as long as he has his Lactaid pill close by!. I decided to make him something special for the break-fast last night ( meal after the fast has ended), because he has been working so hard lately and deserves a treat. This cake was that and more.

I love allrecipes.com. I have never actually followed one of their recipes before, but I have used their pictures as inspiration for my own recipes. This time, I followed their One Bowl Chocolate Cake III recipe almost to a T, and it was fabulous. I ended up pouring the batter into 2 9inch spring form pans, and making a double layer cake with a fudge center..because when can you go wrong with more layers of cake? Recipe below !

Double Chocolate cake with vanilla frosting:

2 cups white sugar

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder ( allrecipes said to use 3/4 cup)

1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

2 eggs

1 cup 1 % milk ( or low fat)

1/2 cup vegetable oil

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1 cup boiling water

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease and flour two 9 inch round pans ( or spring-form).
  • In a large bowl, stir together the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the eggs, milk, oil and vanilla, mix for 2 minutes on medium speed of mixer. Stir in boiling water last. Batter WILL be thin.
  • Pour evenly into prepared pans.

Bake 30-35 minutes at 350 F, until a toothpick test comes out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes, then transfer to wire rack.

Fudge for center:

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup powdered sugar

Combine all 3 ingredients, stirring for about 5 minutes. After cakes have cooled, prepare fudge for center, spread evenly on one side of one 9 inch round cake, lay bottom side of other cake on top of fudge, press firmly to seal.

Vanilla Frosting:

3 1/2 cups powdered sugar

2 sticks butter, softened

2 tablespoons milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Beat butter until smooth, then gradually add powdered sugar until combined. Add milk and mix until desired consistency is reach. Fold in vanilla.

* Drizzle with chocolate syrup, refrigerate until serving.

chocolate cake

