Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

If you are looking for a delicious new dip, and are sick of the usual chummus or olive dip, please try my Hearts of Palm Dip! I created this recipe for my most recent Joy of Kosher entry, and I have already made it twice since! This dip is dairy, but I have a few ideas of how to substitute the Parmesan cheese to make it parve.

To display this dip, I decided to buy a large round loaf of sour dough bread ( stop drooling if you can), carve out a 4 inch X 4 inch well in the center, and place the dip in the well instead of in a serving bowl as you see in the above picture. When we finished the dip, the bread-bowl was like a carbohydrate dream! Don’t forget..it’s OK to splurge sometimes!

Hearts of Palm dip:

Yields: 2 cups

Prep time: 5 minutes

Ready time: 5 minutes

1 can ( 15 oz) hearts of palm, drained and chopped
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese
1 cup diced scallions
3/4 cup real mayonnaise
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Directions:

Get ready for the easiest cooking directions you will ever see:

  • 1. Place all ingredients in your blender ( I used my magic bullet), blend for 20 seconds, shake or scrape down sides, blend for another 20 seconds. Repeat again if you prefer a thinner consistency.
  • Done!

Image

^ Beautiful bread-bowl ( Devoured!).

Image

Perfect with tortilla chips, crudites…or a giant spoon ;).

* Try using 1/4 cup toffuti cream cheese in place of the Parmesan cheese for a parve alternative.

