Tags

, , , ,

Image

I. Love. Peanut. Butter. I made these cookies for a little get together a friend had last week, and they were so peanut butter-y and delicious. I am always afraid to make peanut butter cookies, because nowadays 7 out of 10 people you meet are allergic! But I made these and they turned out amazing, and now my peanut butter addiction is back! I even went to the store to get a new jar of strawberry jam to satisfy my PB & J, much needed fix. For the caramel dip, i melted 2 cups of caramel chips and a little vegetable oil. The consistency was thicker than I had hoped for, but the flavor was everything I wanted..and more!

Peanut butter cookies:

Yields: about 46 cookies

1 1/2 cups creamy peanut butter

1 cup packed light-brown sugar

1 tablespoon granulated sugar

1 stick softened, unsalted butter or margarine

1 egg

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 F. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour and baking powder; set aside.
  • In a large bowl, beat together peanut butter, sugars and butter or margarine, until smooth. Beat in egg. Gradually add flour mixture, a few tablespoons at a time, beating to combine.
  • Roll dough into balls, about 1 tablespoon at a time. Place balls 2 inches apart on parchment lined baking sheets.
  • Using a fork, press balls in a crisscross pattern, while flattening cookie to about 1/2 inch thickness.

Image

  • Bake cookies until golden brown, about 18-20 minutes. Cool on a wire rack.

Caramel dip:

2 cups caramel chips

1 teaspoon vegetable oil

  • In my Crock Pot Little Dipper Warmer, I melted my caramel chips for about 5 minutes. When about half was beginning to melt, I added 1 teaspoon of vegetable oil, stirred, and let continue to melt.

When my caramel was creamy and all chips had been melted, I took about half the batch of peanut butter cookies, laid out a fresh piece of parchment paper, dipped each cookie halfway into the caramel, and set to cool. The caramel was a little thicker than I had anticipated, so I used a spoon to spread the caramel after dipping.

 My Crock Pot Little Dipper Warmer is an amazing piece of machinery. Believe it or not, I do NOT own a microwave. I hate melting chocolate, caramel or various other candies on my stove or double boiler, so this little warmer comes in handy at least once a week in my home. I definitely recommend it, if you do not have the use of a microwave.

😉 Happy Monday

* Adapted from Martha Stewart’s basic peanut butter cookie recipe.

