Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

I know that many people consider their cranberry-apple crisp to be a staple on their Shabbos table. It usually is on mine too! But last week, as I was looking through the vegetable drawer in my refrigerator, creatively trying to come up with a new dish without having to go back to the store, I came across two sweet potatoes. An idea was born! I love making my ” crapple” or cranberry-apple crisp, so I used the same basic method with a few changes. Two sweet potatoes is actually a large quantity when chopped, so that plus the one Granny Smith apple I had left in my fridge…I was in business! My husband had 4th’s of this, and there is nothing like someone taking 2nd’s, 3rd’s and 4th’s of your dishes to make you feel like an accomplished “chef”. ;-).

* I served this fresh out of the oven, but it does reheat nicely on the hot plate.

Sweet potato and apple crumble:

2 sweet potatoes, washed, peeled and chopped

1 Granny Smith apple, washed, peeled, and chopped

3 pinches of corn starch

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon lemon juice

Topping:

2 cups old fashioned or quick oats ( Quaker)

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1 tablespoon granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

5 tablespoons margarine, cut into pieces

Directions:

  • Soak chopped potatoes in water for 25 minutes prior to cooking.Drain and towel dry before beginning.
  • Preheat oven to 350 F.
  • Spray 10 inch ceramic baking dish ( or glass/tin pan) with cooking spray.
  • In a small bowl, mix chopped potatoes, apple, cornstarch, sugar and lemon juice until combined.
  • Pour potato mixture into baking dish.
  • In a small bowl, combine oats, flour, brown sugar, granulated sugar and vanilla and spread evenly over potato mixture. Add chopped margarine to the top of the oat mixture.

Baking directions:

Bake uncovered for 45 minutes at 350 F. After 45 minutes, cover tightly with tin foil, and return to the oven for another 40-45 minutes.

* Serve with a scoop of parve ice cream for dessert!

Image

