Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

Last nights dinner. In a word- HEAVEN. And so easy to make. I was doing some shopping for my son’s BBQ birthday party, and I saw some lamb-burger patties and I had to have them! I have made my own lamb-burgers before using ground lamb meat, but these pre-made patties made this dinner prep about 10-15 minutes, and after a long day that’s just what I needed. I have never cooked with the huge portobello mushrooms before, it was so fun! My husband and I are trying to steer clear of carbohydrates when we can ( who isn’t), so I needed to think of something that could take the place of the bun. I have seen on many restaurant menus, portobello mushrooms being served as the CENTER burger in between two actual buns. Yum. I decided to use them as the actual buns, and it was AMAZING. After I sauteed my mushrooms, and cooked my lamb-burgers, I roasted some chickpeas, sliced up some kale, and voila- amazing dinner in about 15 minutes.

Portobello Mushroom bun:

2-4 portobello mushrooms

1 tablespoon garlic, minced

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon onion powder

olive oil

  • In a medium sauce pan, heat up 1 tablespoon of olive oil; swirl.
  • Lay portobello mushrooms, top side down, and season the bottoms evenly with garlic powder, black pepper and onion powder.Saute on high heat for 3-4 minutes.
  • Flip mushrooms so their bottom, blackened side is touching the surface of the pan. Cover and saute for 8-10 minutes.

While my mushrooms were sauteing, I had my lamb-burgers in the oven. No seasoning necessary- they were perfect.

Roasted Chickpeas:

1 can chickpeas

1 tablespoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1 teaspoon dried parsley

1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  • Cut one large piece of tin foil, crinkle it, re-flatten it, then create a bowl folding down the sides.
  • Pour canned chickpeas into tin foil bowl, add spices, mix around with a spoon until evenly coated.
  • Spray exposed chickpeas with olive oil spray, bake at 375 for 10 minutes. ( I had them in the oven along with my burgers).

Image

