Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

What better way to wake up then to the smell of pancakes on the stove? True, I woke up, washed up and was the one who actually made them, but it was still a good morning ;-). In honor of my son’s FIRST BIRTHDAY, I decided to make him a special big boy breakfast. As I was gathering ingredients, I realized I was out of eggs…don’t panic! A real home chef adapts to all kinds of sticky situations, so I made delicious egg-less pancakes- and they rocked! I topped them off with my son’s absolute favorite food, BANANAS. This recipe is definitely a keeper. Enjoy! And happy 1st birthday to the precious love of my life, who makes every second of my life a dream!

Pancakes :

1 cup – all purpose flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 cup 1% or whole milk

2 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 tablespoon chia seeds

1 tablespoon butter/margarine

Real maple syrup

( Assorted toppings) Bananas, berries, chocolate chips

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt; set aside.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together milk, oil and chia seeds.
  • Add dry ingredients to milk mixture, stir just to combine.
  • Heat a large skillet over medium heat, add margarine- let melt, then spread.
  • For each pancake, spoon 2-3 tablespoons of batter onto skillet, using the back of the spoon to spread batter into a circle.
  • Cook until surface of pancakes has some bubbles. Flip carefully, and cook until both sides are evenly browned.

I sliced half a banana and laid the slices on top of my pancakes, then drizzled DELICIOUS real maple syrup. Growing up we always used to processed stuff, but I have to say the real deal is, well, the real deal. I now use Maple Grove Farms 100% pure Maple Syrup. MMMMM.

Image

Adapted somewhat from Martha Stewart’s basic pancakes.

