Tags

, , , , ,

Image

THIS WAS SO YUMMY-I think I am going to make another batch tonight. If you read my most recent post, pumpkin-cranberry & chia seed muffins, you know that I love pumpkin, and I love creating fun new things! I bought a huge can of pumpkin, and with it I made my muffins, this delicious granola, and a cold pumpkin soup. This granola was a fun experiment, and definitely the best granola I have ever made. Originally, I had planned to make no-bake granola bars, but most of them didn’t hold together too well, so instead I put the granola crumbles in yogurt and added them to my homemade trail mix. Chewy and delish!

Pumpkin-chocolate chip granola:

2 1/2 cup quick oats

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

1/3 cup honey

1/4 cup butter or margarine

1/4 cup packed light brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup pumpkin, canned or pureed

1/2 cup chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 350 F.
  • Add oats and walnuts to a small baking sheet and toast for 5-10 minutes. Transfer to a large bowl.
  • Combine butter, honey, brown sugar, vanilla extract and salt in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir occasionally until butter melts and sugar has completely dissolved.

Image

  • Add pumpkin to mixture in sauce pan, stir until completely combined and liquified.

Image

  • Pour wet mixture in to the large bowl with toasted oats and walnuts. Mix well.
  • Add chocolate chips, stir to combine then transfer to glass bowl or tray.

Image

  • If making bars, press into sprayed 8 x 8 glass pan.
  • Cover, and refrigerate at least 2 hours before eating, allowing granola mixture to settle and firm up.
  • Eat with yogurt, ice cream, or by itself!
  • Perfect addition to trail mix too!

Image

Image

^ The granola bars that held together, I dipped into my yogurt and it was amazing.

