Tags

, , , , ,

Image

I’ll be honest. I have never been a fan of sweet potato fries. I never understood the appeal. I have ALWAYS been a fan of ‘real’ fries. Crispy, salty, crunchy french fries. They go perfectly with just about every meal, even breakfast ;-). I think the problem is that I have never eaten an ENJOYABLE sweet potato fry. They are always too mushy, too sweet, too big. Whoever thinks calling a big, soft wedge of sweet potato a ‘fry‘, needs to open a dictionary. I attempted to make my own a few times in the past, just to see what all the hype was about…and they flopped. Then last night as I was cleaning out my refrigerator, I saw that I had two big sweet potatoes sitting in my vegetable drawer, so I decided to give it another go. I Googled ” perfect sweet potato fries” and read at least 4 different recipes and techniques, and I got busy. These turned out AMAZING. We literally finished every last fry. My son didn’t care for them but oh well..more for us!

Skinny Sweet Potato fries:

2-4 large sweet potatoes

2-3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1-2 teaspoons salt

Yields: Roughly 3 one cup servings

Directions:

  • Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and preheat oven to 450.
  • Wash sweet potatoes and dry with a paper towel. Peel if it suits you, I didn’t.
  • Slice potatoes in half lengthwise, then again and again creating skinny french fry stile strips.
  • Soak potato strips in a bowl of water for 40 minutes. Drain then dry with a paper towel.
  • Place potato strips in a medium bowl, and coat with olive oil by hand.
  • Take a medium Ziploc bag, add flour and salt, zip and shake.
  • Add fries to Ziploc bag and turn repeatedly until fries are somewhat coated.( I did 3 small batches instead of 1 large).
  • Spread fries onto parchment paper so they are not touching, and bake for 20 minutes.Flip fries, and bake another 5-10 minutes.

Image

Cool and ENJOY with some ketchup.

Image

