Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Image

A new crock-pot delight! No matter what new dishes I create and blog about, my crock-pot dishes are always among the most viewed by my readers. I guess I’m not the only one who loves the simplicity and ease of a crock-pot ;-).

When I was doing my weekly grocery shop, I noticed just how inexpensive turkey wings are. I have purchased them before, not in a while, but never compared their prices to chicken cutlets or ground beef. I bought a package of 2 huge turkey wings for $5.58! Everything else I needed was already in my cabinets or fridge…dinner = done! I usually use white rice in my crock-pot dinners, but this time I mixed white rice with basmati, and used my left over Farmer’s Market basil and I must say..YUM!

Crock-pot TURKEY:

1 cup white rice

1 cup basmati rice

1 8 oz. can of tomato sauce

1 package turkey wings

1 tablespoon parsley

2 sprigs fresh basil, chopped

1 teaspoon paprika

1 teaspoon black pepper

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1/2 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon dried dill

1 tablespoon onion soup mix

* Enough water to submerge but not fully cover the turkey

Yields: 5, 1 cup servings of rice and 2 portions of protein.

Directions:

  • Spray crock-pot dish with cooking spray.
  • Add rices then pour tomato sauce on top.
  • Lay turkey wings on top of sauce.
  • Add parsley, and basil, followed by all of the spices listed, except for the onion soup mix.
  • Pour cold water into crock-pot, around the edges of the turkey so as not to wash away spices.
  • Sprinkle onion soup mix on top, cover and cook on high for 6 1/2 hours. Turn pot to warm until ready to serve.

I usually serve a soup or salad with dinner, but this is more than enough to fill you up! My son loved the turkey so much that he ate half of my wing! I will definitely be making this again, and will of course share any additions with you all.

Image

Happy Tuesday!

