Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

Red lentil, anise & carrot soup. Packed with vitamins!!! As I mentioned in last night’s crouton post, I am going through a “soup phase”. As I have been trying to incorporate more protein and vegetables into my family’s dinners, and less complex carbs ( and dairy), I have become obsessed with how easy it is to make a delicious, healthy, and filling soup. Whenever I go to the grocery store now, I browse the vegetable section, creating the soup in my head and then jotting down my idea ( or rather, typing it into my phone). This past Shabbos, my mother in law made an amazing chicken soup, adding the usual ingredients of dill, onion, carrot, chicken etc, This time, she added anise. For those of you who have never seen an anise, full name pimpinella anisum, it looks a lot like a fennel bulb. Fennel is actually an herb and anise is a vegetable. I may be the only nerd out there who is interested in this stuff, so hang in there, I’m almost done with my veggie rant.

Anywho, I was reading up about anise, and many case studies show that a diet rich in Vitamin C can help shorten the duration of a cold and even aid in killing off cancer cells in the colon. Sign me up! Anise is also chock full of vitamins that help strengthen your immune system and help keep your heart healthy. I love serving my family dinner and at the same time knowing they are eating something that is actively keeping them safe from the inside out.

This soup was super yummy, especially when topped off with my crunchy homemade croutons. Try it this week and let me know what you think! Stay healthy!

Red lentil, anise & carrot soup:

1 1/2 cups red lentils

1/2 anise bulb ( stem included)

1 large carrot

3 cups chicken broth

3 cups water

1 dash salt

Yields 8, 1 cup servings.

Directions:

  • In a medium pot, add ingredients starting with red lentils. Bring pot to a boil, then simmer for 40 minutes. DONE.
  • It’s that simple.
  • Enjoy! πŸ˜‰

Image

