Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Image

 My first attempt at creating delicious, homemade, crunchy and savory croutons was a success! My husband and I just finished an incredibly scrumptious and healthy dinner, topped off with my fresh herb infused croutons.  I am going through a “soup phase” right now, blending different vegetables and spices together every night. Tonight’s soup was a delicious red lentil, anise and carrot blend. I will leave the soup ( and arugula, mushroom and turkey salad) until tomorrow’s post, because tonight’s is devoted to my special croutons!

This is my second time participating in the JOK Kosher connection link up. I love seeing the amazing, creative and DELICIOUS dishes my fellow kosher food bloggers come up with. This month’s theme was CROUTONS. At first, my mind went wild with ideas. Pumpkin pie cubes anyone? I even bought a gargantuan can of pumpkin in preparation. But last week, my husband and I were on a drive, and I saw the cutest little Farmer’s Market and had to pop in. I love getting fresh vegetables and herbs from the Farmer’s Market. There was an absolutely AMAZING market, hands down the best I have ever seen, upstate where I went to college. I have so missed that fresh, organic, crisp produce! When we stepped in to this little Farmer’s Market, and I saw the fresh herbs, I knew that I had to scrap my pumpkin cubed crouton idea, and opt or something simple, easy and absolutely delicious.

Image

Image

Fresh herb infused croutons:

1 medium baguette

2-3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

4 sprigs fresh basil, chopped

4 sprigs ( 1/4 bunch) fresh parsley, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

The trick to making the perfect crouton – STALE bread. If you only have fresh, pop it in the toaster or oven for 5-10 minutes.

1. Slice baguette in half, lengthwise. Cut into 1-inch cubes. Set aside.

2. In a medium sauce pan, heat 2-3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, and saute garlic, basil and parsley. Saute until wilted and aromatic.

3. Add bread cubes to sauce pan, stir until combined with herb mixture. Croutons should start to brown. Add a touch more olive oil for a crispier crouton.

4. If you REALLY want a super, crispy crouton, place croutons on a baking sheet and broil for 15-20 seconds. Any longer and they WILL burn!

These crunchy bites were the perfect addition to our dinner of soup and salad. I can’t wait to share my soup recipe with all of you, but for now, enjoy these herb infused croutons! We finished the whole bowl 😉

Image

*They didn’t even get soggy while I took my pictures!

Image

