Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

I had the busiest, most exhausting, but totally rewarding past few days. If you know me, you know I love to cook AND bake. I have been thinking/dreaming of starting a little business out of my kitchen selling baked goods. I have been wavering back and forth, trying to figure out if I even have the time, space, and energy to do this. I stared to think about the holiday of Shavuot/Shavuos, and how much I love making cheesecakes. Thus, my cheesecake sale was born! Hopefully this will turn into something big for me, but for now I feel very accomplished after a week of baking, packaging and taste testing!

I took a lot of pictures that I want to share with you, and just looking back over them makes me smile ;-). Thank you to all of you who inquired and ordered your cheesecakes and cheesecake cups from My wife the chef (me), I really appreciate the support, and will never forget my first sales ever!

Enjoy the pictures & my Oreo cheesecake and cheesecake cup recipe.

Image

^ My most popular cheesecake was my Reese’s cup cheesecake. My sister says the uncooked batter is the best thing she has ever tasted. Looks good to me!

Image

^ This was a low-fat plain cheesecake that I had a request for. I choose not to cook using a water bath, which is just a large pan of water you place your spring form pan in while baking. I prefer the ” homie” or “heimish” look of my cheesecakes. I also like the texture of the outer layer, it becomes a soft crust, and I find it easier to slice perfectly.

Image

^ Delicious and creamy Oreo cheesecake. Where can you go wrong with something that good. I really love Oreos. I had the most fun with my Oreo batter. I sold cheesecake cups as well as cakes, and I think my Oreo cheesecake cups were some of the most beautiful desserts I have ever made.

Image

Right???? Yum. I sold a bunch of these to a really sweet, and pregnant, girl, who e-mailed me last night after she picked up her order and told me that she had a cheesecake cup last night and she loved it so much and it was so yummy. It made my NIGHT! I had some extra batter left over from a batch so I poured it into two ramekin dishes, and had myself a little treat after a long day.

Image

^ Doesn’t it look like a bowl of heaven? Or ice cream maybe, but it’s my special ramekin full of Oreo cheesecake just for me.

Image

Oreo cheesecake recipe:

24 Oreo cookies

1 stick butter, melted

3 bricks cream cheese, softened

3/4 cup sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla

3 eggs

Directions:

1. Place 16 Oreo cookies in a large Ziploc bag. Crush by using a rolling pin until you have semi-fine crumbs.

2. Place crumbs in a bowl with melted margarine, mix to combine and press into bottom of your spring form pan. ( Or evenly into your muffin tins)

3. Beat cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla until well blended and there are no lumps. Add eggs 1 at a time, mixing well after each addition.

4. Chop remaining cookies, and gently stir half into the batter.

5. Pour batter over crusts, if making cups, fill each cup about 3/4 of the way full. Sprinkle remaining cookies on top of batter.

For cheesecake, bake 55-60 minutes. For cups bake 35-40. Let cool then refrigerate for at least 3 hours.

( For topping I used whipping cream, but whipped cream works in the same fashion).

Below are a few of the other cheesecake cups i made, sold, and/or devoured.

Image

Image

Thank you again everyone for the support. I love you all! Have a wonderful week, and eat LOTS of cheesecake!

