Tags

, , , , ,

Image

I love how my chicken meatballs look like Matzoh balls. This picture is getting me excited for my Friday night Chicken soup with matzoh balls. 🙂

I posted a couple of days ago, about an article I read in Good Housekeeping, featuring Dr. Oz. I can’t get enough of him! My lettuce wrapped turkey and lentil salad garnered a lot of attention, because people are always looking to change up or improve their eating habits, as am I! Dr. Oz discusses the pros and cons of dieting, and highlights some of the areas in which many of us lack actual knowledge of what we should be limiting and more importantly, what we should be adding into our diet. You can read more about that in my previous post, or by picking up the May 2013 issue of Good Housekeeping.

Dr. Oz suggested serving chicken meatballs over Orzo and vegetables, but I only had basmati rice, and my husband and I are trying to incorporate salad into most if not all of our dinner time meals. ( Besides the high amounts of folate, YAY folate, a super important B vitamin especially for you preggies out there, lettuce has a great deal of fiber and is calorie free!).

Chicken meatballs:

1 pound ground chicken

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1 teaspoon dried oregano

1 teaspoon onion powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 tablespoons extra- virgin olive oil

Directions:

1. Prepare 2 cups of basmati rice according to directions of the package. When fully cooked, add one teaspoon of salt and one teaspoon of garlic powder. Set aside.

2. Preheat oven to 450 F.

3. In a medium bowl, mix chicken, garlic, oregano, onion powder and salt. Shape into 2- inch meatballs.

4. Lay chicken “meatballs” on a jelly roll pan, and brush with olive oil. Bake 12-15 minutes, or until cooked through.

I made a tasty, healthy salad of lettuce, raw mushrooms, red onions, and cucumber. I do usually prefer romaine lettuce or spinach leaves but my husband likes Iceberg. I added one cup of my basmati rice to the center of my salad, laid the chicken meatballs a top the rice, and drizzled with a light Caesar dressing.

HEALTHY AND DELICIOUS. Can’t go wrong with that combo!

Image

