Tags

, , ,

Image

Shavuos is coming! Bring on the dairy! ( Not for my poor husband, but for everyone else..!).

I made these Mac & Cheese cups a few months ago, completely forgot to blog about them, and now is the perfect time to share them with you! I was never a big homemade macaroni and cheese person. Wacky Mac is, was, and always will be the best in my opinion. But since I had a child, and decided I didn’t want to fill his belly with what can only be described as delicious chemicals in a box, I have been sticking to homemade mac & cheese.

If you follow me, you know that from time to time I love making things in miniature. They’re so cute and fun to eat, and aesthetically pleasing meals taste that much better.Β  So here you go! My Mac & Cheese cups, perfect for Shavuos!

Mac & Cheese cups:

2-2 1/2 cups uncooked spiral pasta ( Elbow works just as well if not better, but I only had spiral)

1 tablespoon butter or margarine

1 egg, beaten

1 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 cup milk

1/2 cup thawed frozen broccoli chunks

1 cup bread crumbs

1/2 tablespoon olive oil

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon dried parsley

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease muffin tins with cooking spray and set aside. In a small bowl, stir together 1/2Β  cup bread crumbs, olive oil, salt and parsley.

2. Bring a large pot of water to a boil, Add the pasta and cook for 7-9 minutes. Drain and return to the pan.

3. Stir in the butter and egg until combined. Reserve half a cup of mozzarella cheese and put aside. Add the rest of the mozzarella cheese, cheddar cheese, milk, broccoli, 1/2 cup breadcrumbs and 1/2 teaspoon of salt to the pasta. Spoon into prepared muffin tins. Sprinkle remaining mozzarella cheese and breadcrumbs mixture over Mac & Cheese cup tops.

4. Bake for 30 minutes, or until topping is nicely browned. Let cool for a few minutes before serving.

cupps

mmccups

ENJOY!

