Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

Ask and you shall receive! This recipe is pretty similar to my other crock pot dishes,but why mess with something so good? I have the Hamilton beach 3-in-1 slow cooker, which I have raved about before, and I will again. I just love it. It cooks so evenly, is easy to clean and comes with three bowl sizes which is perfect. Last night I used to smallest bowl ( size 1) and my husband and I ate the entire thing. In our defense, our 10 month old helped us!

I usually use chicken thighs or breasts when making crock pot chicken, but last night I used drumettes. They are the meatier part of a chicken wing, and oh-so tasty. This recipe would work just as well with thighs or breasts, you may want to increase the amount of spices though. Enjoy crock pot lovers!

Crock pot chicken – about 4, 1 cup servings.

Crock Pot chicken:

Spray your crock pot dish with cooking spray, or insert your crock pot liner.

Add 1 1/2 cups uncooked, white rice. Chop 1 medium yellow onion, not finely, add to the rice. Next, in a small bowl, mix 1 tablespoon dried dill, 1 tablespoon garlic powder, 1 tablespoon parsley flakes and 1 teaspoon black pepper. Pour on top of rice. Lay your chicken above the rice and spices, spread out evenly not piled one on top of another. Pour in 1 cup of chicken stock ( broth) and 3 cups of cool water.

* These liquid measurements were for the smallest size crock pot bowl, adjust to the size you are using. When I do this I make sure the chicken is submerged about halfway in liquid.

Sprinkle 1 more tablespoon of dried dill, 1 teaspoon of salt, 1 teaspoon onion powder over the chicken. Place 1 beef stock cube in the center of the chicken, cover and set on high for 5 1/2-6 hours. About half way through, I broke up the stock cube with a spoon and spread it about the pot. Serve and enjoy!

Image

My wife the chef’s other featured crock pot dinners:

What a crock

A match made in crock pot heaven

