Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

I have a whole bunch of recipes/posts coming up…my camera is overloaded! I need more hours in the day! These sweet chocolate cupcakes were a treat I made last week for my husband to bring to a little work celebration he was having. He told me they were gobbled up instantly 😉 so I had to share the recipe with my fans and friends!. My husband is now officially on a lactose free diet. He has known for years that he had a lactose sensitive stomach, but finally he has been giving the word from his Dr..NO MORE DAIRY! While I still love anything cooked with cheese and I plan to continue to make dairy meals for my son..expect a lot more dairy free posts! These cupcakes, along with the “cream cheese” frosting are..you guessed it, dairy free. Enjoy!

Chocolate cupcakes:

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 tablespoons vegetable oil

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 tablespoon I can’t believe it’s not sour cream

1 1/4 cups water

* If you want to skip the faux sour cream, add one extra tablespoon of vegetable oil.

1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Line a 12 cup muffin tin with cupcake liners; set aside.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt together; set aside.

3. In a large bowl, beat together the oil, vanilla, sour cream and water until combined. Add flour mixture to the large bowl and mix by hand until combined. Scrape down the side of the bowl when necessary.

4. Pour batter into prepared muffin cups, filling each cup about 1/2- 3/4 full. Bake for 20-25 minutes, until toothpick inserted comes out clean.

5. Immediately remove cupcakes from muffin tin and transfer to a wire rack. Let cool before adding pudding and frosting.

Pudding:

I made one package of parve vanilla pudding mix..easy peezy, according to the directions on the box. When cupcakes are completely cooled, add pudding to a pastry bag, using the long narrow tip, insert tip into the center of the cupcake and squeeze roughly one tablespoon of pudding.

* If you do not have a pastry bag, years ago I used a medicine ( think baby Tylenol) syringe to do this and it worked!

Parve cream cheese frosting:

1 container of tofutti cream cheese, at room temp.

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 stick margarine, unsalted and at room temp

1/2 cup powdered sugar

Beat together the cream cheese, vanilla, margarine and sugar until desired consistency. Refrigerate for 20 minutes before frosting.

Image

 

