Tags

, , ,

Image

Today was just like any other day. I woke up, got my baby dressed, made him breakfast, checked Facebook. Yes, that was and is one of the first things I do in the morning, I’ll admit it! The first thing I noticed on my mini feed was a post by Kitchen Tested! Melinda Strauss, who posts some of my favorite pictures and recipes, announced that it was NATIONAL PRETZEL DAY! I am always pressed for time on Fridays, who isn’t? But I really, really, REALLY was in the mood for a soft pretzel, so I made it happen. Now, when I pick up my husband in the city today after work, I will have a special and DELICIOUS treat for him. YAY! Thanks Melinda!

Image

Soft Pretzel:

1 1/2 cups warm water

1 packet or 2 1/4 teaspoons active yeast

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon granulated sugar

4-4 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 large egg ( for wash)

Course salt for sprinkling (optional but recommended!)

This is SUCH an easy recipe, thank you Sally’s baking addiction!

1. Preheat oven to 425Β  F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone baking mat.

2. Dissolve yeast in warm water. Stir with a spoon until fairly mixed. No need to wait for the bubbles to form, we aren’t baking Challah here! Add salt and sugar, and stir. Slowly add flour, 1 cup at a time, and mix with a wooden spoon until your dough is thick. Add flour until dough is no longer sticky. Poke your dough, if it bounces back, it is ready to be kneaded!

3. Knead dough on a floured surface for 3-5 minutes. Using a sharp knife, cut dough into 1/3 inch sections. I did not actually measure my dough sections, just eye ball it. I made some big pretzels and some small, the taste is the same!

4. Roll the dough into a rope, roughly 15 or so inches long. Take the ends and draw them together so the dough forms a circle. Twist the ends, then bring them towards yourself and press them down into a pretzel shape.

5. In a small bowl, beat 1 egg, and brush each side of the pretzel evenly. Sprinkle your coarse salt over the pretzel, OR a cinnamon sugar mixture which I did too.

Image

6. Bake for 10 minutes, turning the oven to broil for the last 4 minutes. Make sure to keep an eye on the pretzels so they don’t burn. Every oven is different.

Allow to cool, serve warm or at room temp with some delicious yellow or spicy brown mustard.

Image

Image

^Look how fluffy!

HAPPY NATIONAL PRETZEL DAY EVERYONE!

