Tags

, , , , , ,

Image

These yummy bites may look challenging, but looks can be deceiving. These are a really fun, and beautiful dessert/breakfast/snack that can be prepared and made in less time than is in one episode of The Office. Sometimes I just need a little Michael Scott while I bake!

The dough is fairly simple, and you will be pleased to know, has no sugar! I love when I can use honey in place of sugar, and still have sweet and delicious results. The glaze however, does contain sugar, but you can choose how much glaze you want to drizzle over your scones,or skip the glaze altogether and feel no guilt! I am very excited about this glaze though, it happened to be amazing! I mentioned a company a few weeks back, Bakto Flavors, and once again their wonderful products aided me in creating something spectacular. When I opened their blueberry extract, the smell almost knocked me off my feet. Pure heaven. I thought for a long while about what my first experiment would be, as I have never before used blueberry extract as I am sure many of you haven’t either. Once I decided on scones for Tuesday nights dessert, I knew! A delicious blueberry glaze.

Mini scones:

1/2 cup coconut milk

2 large eggs

2 tablespoons of honey

1 tablespoon Bakto vanilla extract

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons cold margarine

1/4 cup mashed blackberries (optional)

Preheat oven to 400 F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

In a small bowl, combine coconut milk, eggs, honey and vanilla. Whisk to combine.

In a large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda and salt. Add cold margarine to flour using fingers to break up the margarine until the dough resembles a coarse meal. Add milk mixture and mix with fork until dough comes together. Add blackberries ( or your own mix-in) at this point. Knead dough for 1 minute and pat down into a 1/2 inch thick circle. Using a 2-3 inch round glass or cookie cutter, cut circular scones and transfer to parchment paper. Gather scraps and repeat until all your dough has been used. Bake for 9-11 minutes, or until tops are light golden brown.

Image

Image

Image

I love that these scones look like they have mouths 😉

I adapted this recipe from Joy of Kosher, but skipped and/or added a number of ingredients and adjusted the cooking time.

Blueberry glaze:

1 cup confectioners sugar

5 tablespoons coconut milk

1 teaspoon Bakto blueberry extract

Combine all three ingredients and mix until silky. Using a tablespoon, drizzle icing over cooled scones, and let sit for 10-15 minutes while icing to firms up.

Image

