Tags

, , , , ,

Image

I made this super tasty soup for dinner last night, and I am considering making it again tonight. It took about 5 minutes to prepare and roughly 30 to cook. If you are looking for an easy, healthy and hearty dinner or starter, this is it folks! I am keeping this post short today because I am running in 5 different directions, but I have something exciting and yummy planned for tonight πŸ˜‰ I’ll keep you all posted!

Hearty red lentil soup

You will need:

1 1/2 cups red lentils

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon garlic powder

1 cup carrot, chopped

1 cup leek, chopped

3 tablespoons fresh cilantro, discard stems

1 tablespoon fresh basil

1 cup chicken or vegetable broth

6 cups water

1 tsp salt

Image

(Poor picture quality but I wanted to show how beautiful all the vegetables look together with the lentils)

Set your pot on the stove,combine ALL ingredients and bring pot to a boil. Cover and bring to a low heat, let simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. It’s THAT easy. Garnish with a sprig of fresh cilantro.

( I considered adding a bullion cube, but opted against it. Turns out,it didn’t need the extra flavor).

* If using vegetable broth, adding some Parmesan cheese would be delicious! I served this with a simple duck sauce chicken though, so no cheese for me!

