Tags

, , , , , ,

Image

Am I the only one who takes mental pictures of their food on Shabbos, trying to imagine just how and when someone will create a camera with a Shabbos mode? Then I take a breathe and remember just how lucky we are to have Shabbos, and to be able to take a break from everything INCLUDING incessant food picture taking!

Yesterday, instead of serving one of many varieties of gefilta fish, I decided to make something different. I love fish. I love it baked, fried, sauteed, poached, broiled, RAW, and I love coming up with new ways to serve it to my family. I have been trying to incorporate more fish into my diet. It started as part of my weight loss plan after I gave birth last Summer, but the more research I did proved to me that the health benefits go way beyond just weight loss. Wild Salmon, specifically wild Alaskan salmon, is one of the healthiest fish out there. It is an excellent source of Omega 3 fatty acids ( great if you’re pregnant!), and has a very low mercury level – which means you can eat more of it! Check out the above link for a full list of the health benefits of wild Alaskan salmon and general fish consumption guidelines.

I served my delicious wild salmon over dill rice, but I couldn’t take a picture of the finished product due to the fact that it was Shabbos day, so use your imagination!

Wild Salmon with fresh cilantro

You will need:

2 large salmon fillets

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon ground black pepper

1 teaspoon dried dill

Juice of 1 fresh lemon

1 1/2 cups tomato sauce ( not unsalted)

1 tablespoon olive oil

4 sprigs of fresh Cilantro

dash of kosher salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray baking pan with cooking spray and place salmon fillets skin side down. In a small bowl, mix garlic powder, black pepper and dill. Sprinkle evenly over fillets. In another small bowl, combine lemon juice, tomato sauce and olive oil, and pour over fillets, covering all exposed fish. Slice fresh cilantro into 2 inch pieces, do not discard stems, and lay over fillets. Sprinkle a dash of salt, cover tightly with tin foil. Bake for 35 minutes at 350.

My simple dill couscous, took less than 3 minutes to prepare ( once the couscous was cooked). Cook 1 box of plain couscous according to the directions on the box. Add 2 tablespoons of fresh or dried dill, 1 teaspoon olive oil, 1 teaspoon kosher salt and 1/4 cup of raw pine nuts. Lay your salmon fillets over the dill rice, and enjoy! I served this meal at room temperature.

Have a great week MWTC readers!

“Only one food has the reputation from time immemorial of being a “brain food”. That food is fish… you should plan to eat a seafood meal seven days a week — and salmon at least five times a week.”

– Nicholas Perricone, M.D

