Tags

, , , , , ,

Image

Oh, these were so yummy! For dinner tonight, my family had a big BBQ. I had made these delicious desserts in the spirit of the kosher connection link up ” the best thing I ever ate” but they are dairy, so naturally we had dessert before dinner!

Originally, I had planned to make a chocolate and peanut butter mousse tort. I went to the store with my list in hand, only to come to the conclusion that now that my baby ( big boy!) is 10 months old, I just don’t have the time OR energy to spend 3 hours in the kitchen for one dish. I can plop him in his exersaucer for, if I am lucky, 20-25 minutes before he realizes he’s not pulling all of the books off the bookshelf or unfolding a pile of folded laundry. I decided to scrap the idea of a mousse torte, and go for something mommy friendly ( aka not too time consuming, easy ingredients to purchase, but still absolutely delicious and pretty to look at).

Chocolate tacos of course! One of my favorite cooking magazines, Cooking Light, featured a Taco special this week. Most of the recipes were dedicated to sauteed beefs and veal and chicken, but one page was all about the chocolate taco. The second I laid eyes on it, I knew I had to try it. Behold, vanilla ice cream filled chocolate taco with crushed peanuts, and my own creation, a chocolate taco filled with strawberry sorbet, sliced fresh strawberries and drizzled chocolate.

icee cream

ice creamd

Ice cream filled chocolate taco shells:

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1/4 cup all purpose flour

3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa

1 teaspoon cornstarch

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 tablespoons egg whites

1 teaspoon reduced fat 2 % milk ( I used half & half)

1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

Cooking spray

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 teaspoon canola oil

1/2 cup finely chopped peanuts ( unsalted)

2+2/3 cups vanilla ice cream

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees (F)

Combine first 5 ingredients, stir well. Stir in egg whites, milk and vanilla. Coat baking sheet with cooking spray. Next, draw 4, 5-inch circles on the sheet with your finger. Spoon one tablespoon of batter onto each circle, spreading to the edges of the circle using the back of a spoon. Bake for 6 minutes or until edges begin to brown. Loosen edges with a spatula and remove from baking sheet. Working quickly, drape each taco over a suspended wooden spoon, gently shaping the shell. Cool completely. The shells are delicate, handle with care. Repeat to form 8 shells.

spoon!

Combine chocolate chips and oil in a microwave safe bowl. Cook on high for one minute or until chocolate has melted ( stirring after 30 seconds)Spread 1 teaspoon of chocolate on each side of the taco shell, and press in chopped peanuts. Scoop one ball of ice cream into taco shell, drizzle remaining chocolate and sprinkle peanuts on top. Freeze for at least 30 minutes before TRULY AND DEEPLY ENJOYING!.

For my strawberry sorbet tacos:

Follow directions for vanilla ice cream filled tacos. Skip chocolate and peanuts on either side of the taco. Scoop one ball of sorbet into shell, drizzle chocolate over sorbet and place sliced strawberries a top the chocolate. Freeze for at least 30 minutes before serving.

Check out some of these AMAZING dishes that my fellow kosher food bloggers have worked so hard on!

