Tags

, , , ,

Image

Does anyone else have leftover Passover goods that they just don’t know what to do with? Me me me! I bought so much shredded coconut, for reasons unknown, that I was left with three big bags after the holiday ended. Now the fun begins! This week I wanted to use some shredded coconut in a dish other than dessert, and the result was delicious, crispy and won rave reviews from my hubby.

My famous chicken cutlets, I keep meaning to post but never seem to have my camera handy when they come out of the oven, are sweet and savory. I’m the kind of person who loves mixing salty and sweet flavors, HELLO chocolate covered pretzels! I love adding a hint of brown sugar to my cutlets, along with whatever breading and other spices I am using, because the combination is delicious and hits all my taste-buds at once. I decided to experiment with some coconut, which has a hint of sweetness, but also offers an incredibly crunchy texture, thus creating a seemingly fried chicken dish, even though it never went near a frying pan!

This chicken was fab! My husband took the leftovers to work the next day and told me that even after reheating, it maintained most of its crunchy texture. Win!

Bake time: 1 hour 15 minutes

You will need:

1 package of 5-6 chicken thighs

2 eggs ( for coating)

2 cups Kellogg cornflake crumbs

1/2 cup shredded coconut

1 tbs dark brown sugar

1 1/2 tsp sea salt

1 tsp each garlic powder and turmeric

dash black pepper

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Spray glass pan with cooking spray.

Beat 2 eggs, set aside.

Combine breadcrumbs, coconut and brown sugar. Make sure to break up sugar lumps. Add salt, garlic powder, turmeric and pepper and mix.

Dip each piece of chicken in egg mixture, making sure there are no bare spots, and press completely in coconut cornflake crumbs. Lay each piece of chicken in your pan. I like to use vegetable oil spray for my pans, if you do too, give a quick spray over your chicken for extra crispy results!

Cover with tin foil and bake for 50 minutes. Uncover and continue to bake for another 25 minutes.

coconut chicken

