Tags

, , , , ,

Image

As the title reads, Spring is in the air! I made these muffins this morning, laid a blanket down in my driveway and enjoyed 1 (or 2) with a cup of coffee while my 10 month old played in the sun. These muffins are really fabulous and super easy to make! I had a whole bunch of browning bananas that my husband refuses to eat, I am fresh out of milk so a breakfast smoothie was out of the question- banana muffins it was!

I try to use unsweetened apple sauce in lieu of oil when I can, but the 1/3 cup applesauce below can be substituted for oil if you prefer.

You will need:

2 cups whole wheat flour

1 cup quick cooking oats

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp nutmeg ( optional)

1 tsp cinnamon

2 bananas, mashed

2 eggs

1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 tsp vanilla

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon.

In a seperate bowl, combine the mashed bananas, applesauce, eggs and vanilla. Add banana mixture to dry mixture and mix until moistened.

Spoon 1 tablespoon of batter into greased cupcake tins or paper cups. Bake for 15 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Enjoy these muffins everyone, they are REALLY delicious. For those of you who suffer from Spring allergies like I do…pop some Allegra and get outside..it’s beautiful!

Image

