Tags

, ,

Image

A number of people came to me before Passover, asking for a delicious cheesecake recipe (done!). Cheesecake is really easy to make on Passover because it does not contain ingredients that are inherently ” chometz”. The crust however can be tricky! I usually make a graham cracker or Oreo crumble crust, I even made a crust out of tea biscuits once – see my parve cheesecake for details. For this holiday I decided to create something really unique and delicious. As I was browsing the shelves on Seasons, I came across red velvet macaroons. YUM. Macaroons are a staple in most Jewish homes on Passover, mine included, but I have never seen red velvet flavored before! Read below for my easy macaroon crust directions, and delicious, dairy, kosher for Passover cheesecake.

You will need:

2 8 oz containers of Temp Tee whipped cream cheese

1/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup dark brown packed sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup chocolate chips

2 tbs sour cream

Red velvet macaroon crust:

16 red velvet macaroons, crumbled

4 tbs butter, or margarine, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 8 x 8 pan with cooking spray.

Mix cream cheese and sugars together until smooth. Use beaters or by hand ( I mixed by hand). Add eggs one a time and vanilla and mix into batter. Fold in chocolate chips and sour cream.

Let batter sit while you prepare your crust. Crumble macaroons by hand, pour in melted butter or margarine, mix until crumbles are moist. Press crumbs into 8 x 8 pan and pour in batter.

Bake for 45 minutes-50 minutes. Cake should be somewhat jiggly in the center. Let completely cool before refrigerating. Refrigerate for at least 4 hours before serving.

Image

* The batter becomes very light and thin, chocolate chips will settle on the bottom right atop the crust.

