Tags

, , ,

Image

Sugar cookies…yum yum yum! I know the majority of society is on diets ( as am I), but once in a while it’s OK to give yourself a treat. My husband worked late last night, my baby went to bed early, and I was alone in a don’t-wanna-watch-t.v kind of mood. So I baked! I sent the cookies off with my husband today as a treat for his office, but I did wake up this morning to one he left behind for me ;). This is the best sugar cookie recipe EVER. They are beautifully round and thin, sweet and CHEWY. Have you ever made cookie dough, rounded it into balls, shoved it in the oven only to later find that the dough didn’t spread and what you are left with is a lumpy misshapen cookie? I have! This is a pareve recipe but I did put some left over Chanukah gelt in the centers of some ( not pictured) which made those dairy.

You will need:

2 3/4 cups all purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/4 cup margarine

2 cups white sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup sugar for decoration

Preheat oven to 350.  In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

In a large bowl, cream together the margarine and 2 cups sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla. Gradually stir in the dry ingredients until just blended.

Next roll the dough into walnut sized balls and roll the balls in remaining 1/4 cup of sugar. Place cookies 2 inches apart onto parchment lined cookie sheets and flatten slightly.

Bake 8-10 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.

