Tags

, , , , , ,

Image

Purim Sameach! I love love love this time of year! In case you don’t know, this is my first Purim as a mommy! Although I dressed my belly last year as an ice cream cone, this year is the real deal and I am super excited! I wanted to come up with a cute way to tie in our costumes with our Mishloach Manos. My husband and son are dressing as Mickey Mouse ( how adorable- keeping it old school), and I am going as Minnie ( obviously). We could not come up with a Manos theme that directly connected to our costumes, my husband thought of a Disney theme but even with an unlimited budget which we don’t have, it almost seems impossible. We ended up going a different route altogether with our Mishloach Manos, but I DID sneak it one little treat that brings it all togetherΒ  – red hamentashen! I made another, different, batch that I will post as well, but I am really excited about these!

Here’s what you will need:

3 eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup canola or vegetable oil

3/4 cup water

1 1/2 cup sugar

3 tsp baking powder

7 cups flour

* 1 beaten egg in a desperate bowl

Your choice of tashen filling ( for these I used chocolate fudge)

Combine eggs, vanilla, oil, and water and blend for 60 seconds. Add sugar, baking powder and flour and blend until your dough is soft. Cover and refrigerate for 1-2 hours. ( I left mine for 1.5 hours and the dough was perfect).

Preheat oven to 350

Thaw dough for 5 minutes then roll out into a thin layer, about 1/8 of an inch. Dip rim of a 3-4 inch glass in flour, and use to cut out circles.

ImageIn the center of each circle, drop a teaspoon or less of fudge.

Image

Dip your finger in your beaten egg and gently rub around perimeter or dough disc.

Shape into a triangle by folding the sides towards the center and and bottom towards the top, then pinch the corners.

Place hamentashen 1 inch apart on baking sheet. Brush with remaining beaten egg.

Bake 20 minutes.

Image

If you want to dip your hamentashen in chocolate like I did, it’s very easy and adds elegance and excitement to your cookies.

mickey 2

* Melt one package of (red) candy melts in a double boiler. Dip one side or corner into melted chocolate and cool on dry baking sheet. DONE!

Tips for using candy melts:

If you do not have a double boiler, fill a small pan half way with water, place a small pot inside the pan and place candy melts in pot.

Do not add any water. If you want a thinner consistency, add a few drops of vegetable oil.

Melt on a low flame, do not boil.

PURIM SAMEACH!!!

Stay tuned for my strawberry mini hamentashen!

