Tags

, , , ,

Image

Ahhh, Shabbos! My favorite time of the week. Because I am busy cooking, I must keep today’s posts short. This Challah is not only fun to make, but it is SO soft and delicious that people will be asking for the recipe. What is 50/50 Challah you ask? 50% whole wheat flour, 50% white bread flour. My other whole wheat Challah that I have posted is also a 50/50, but this recipe is a bit different.

You will need:

5 pounds of Challah ( about 8 cups ww flour, and 8 cups white flour)

1 1/2 cup plus 1 tbs sugar

4 tbs yeast

1 cup oiil

4 cups warm water

3 eggs

1 1/2 tbs salt

After you measure your flour and place it in your bowl, make a well with your hand, and place the dry yeast in it.

Image

Add 1 tbs sugar, 1 cup warm water and 1 tbs flour to the well.

Image

When your yeast bubbles ( after about 5 minutes) sprinkle your salt around the flour, not mixing with the yeast. Next add sugar to the flour, oil to the middle and your eggs to the middle. Add 3 cups warm water to the middle then mix all together. I like to use my hands rather than waste time with a spoon when I inevitably will be using my hands anyway. Knead for 5 minutes then let rise for 30 minutes.

Image

Knead again, separate Challah into braids and let rise for another 30 minutes. Wash with egg and sprinkle some sesame or poppy seeds, and bake at 350 for 35=40 minutes. This recipe made me 4 medium sized Challahs. I am serving them tomorrow with babaganush and my favorite spicy chummus. Good Shabbos!

