Tags

, , , ,

I had so much fun with last nights dinner. I was inspired this week to try something completely OUT of the box ( at least for me), and the result? SCRUMPTIOUS! I love pasta, probably too much. What I love more than pasta, is pasta with alfredo sauce. When I was pregnant I ate so much of it that I was surprised my son didn’t come out in the shape of a linguini! As you know my husband has some what of a lactose allergy. Last night I decided to get creative and try and duplicate a delicious alfredo sauce using….drum roll please…CASHEWS???

My typical alfredo sauce contains the usual butter, cream cheese, milk, pepper, etc ( basically an entire cows weekly productivity). Although delicious, and fattening!, I wanted to investigate an idea I saw on my friend Rebecca’s blog, and a different variation of it that I saw on the Facebook group, I don’t cook but I give out recipes. I took the inspiration and tweaked it as any chef does, and it LITERALLY tasted like alfredo sauce.

First thing I did was soak 1 1/2 cups of RAW cashews for 3-4 hours. Not roasted, not salted, just raw.

Image

Before I made my sauce, I boiled my Smart Taste fiber enriched spaghetti. 8-10 minutes on a high boil is perfect. I prefer a softer noodle as opposed to al dente.

Next I poured my cashews into the blender. Added 1 1/2 cup cold water, 1 tbs garlic powder and a dash of salt, and blended away. I didn’t know what to expect when I tasted it, but I was happily surprised.Β  I poured my sauce over the drained noodles and garnished my bowl with a few pieces of diced tomato.

Image

Image

When I made my husband guess what the ‘mystery sauce’ was, after 4 tries he gave up. He guessed alfredo sauce ( obviously), cottage cheese, yogurt and melted cheese, then said just tell me! He loved it! I can’t wait to try this again with pesto, I’ll let you all know how that turns out;) Enjoy this one guys!

