Tags

, , , , ,

Image

The above picture is one of my FAVORITES that I have taken of any meal I have ever made. I feel like you can taste the savory deliciousness just from looking at the picture! I usually slice and serve my briskets or French Roasts on Shabbos day, thus never ever being able to take a picture. But when I made this piece of meat a few months ago and actually served it Friday night, I was sure to save the picture for my future blog.

I almost always cook my meat in a roasting bag, this time i was fresh out of Reynold’s roasting bags ( which are cheap and an amazing helping hand when cooking beef). Roasting bags help trap moisture and basically force your meat to absorb more juice. Meat also shrinks significantly LESS when cooked in a bag. Have you ever made a brisket andΒ  excitedly opened your oven, only to find it had shriveled to a piece the size of a chicken cutlet? Never again!

Since I did not have a bag, I decided to sear the meat on both sides in a preemptive move to trap the juice inside.

You will need:

One 3-6 pound French Roast

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp black pepper

1/2 cup BBQ sauce

2 tbs minced garlic

1 tbs honey

1 tsp onion soup mix.

I seasoned my meat with garlic and pepper, and seared it on both sides in a frying pan.Next I placed my meat in a pan and mixed my BBQ sauce, garlic, and honey together and poured over my Roast. Lastly i sprinkled my small amount of soup mix on top, covered with aluminum foil and baked at 350 for 1 hour and 50 minutes. I uncovered my meat and continued to bake for another 30 minutes.

Tip*. Do not slice meat until it has completely cooled in a refrigerator for at least 5 hours.

Always slice against the grain πŸ˜‰

